Weekend Cooking

It’s been a long week. I’m glad it’s over, here’s to hoping next week is better.

I did some cooking this morning with my mum and brother, virtually so that was fun. We made some savoury mince, so dinner for tonight is all prepped and I can take it easy this afternoon until dinner time.

And I’ve got some freezer meals. I’m set for the next two weeks for meals and shopping. which is great – I like to be organised.

I was hoping to jump on last week to write about my week, but it didn’t happen and that was a week ago – and I’m not sure if I can remember that far back. Tomorrow is Mother’s Day, and it’ll be a quiet day – considering we can’t go anywhere. I’m sure we’ll be able to leave the house at some point. But my eldest has drawn me a picture and has requested that I wear my twirly dress tomorrow. So, why not. I’ll dress up because I can and I will feel pretty because my little men will think so. That and they will want me to twirl in my dress. Apparently, that’s the best part – watching Mummy spin around like a ballerina on a music box.

After making the savoury mince, my boys decided that I needed to bake a cake – I went with cupcakes (they now have snacks for the week) with berries, topped with buttercream icing and sprinkles. They looked great, and they thought so too. My youngest (Mr 3) is my little sous chef, helping me mix the batter and then ‘helping’ by licking the bowl clean. He also helped me make the savoury mince. He cut up all the mushrooms, and attempted to cut up potatoes, before deciding to peel them. I think I need more kids cooking implements as he quite enjoys cooking and it’s fun to be able to share that with my boys. Mr 6(eldest) was more interested in his lego, but hey at the very least he enjoys eating the food I make, so that’s a win in my book.

Hopefully you’re all enjoying your weeks – wherever you happen to be, and a Happy Mother’s Day to all the lovely Mama’s out there.

God Bless!

Leave a comment