My own personal Groundhog Day

I’m going to guess most people’s days feel like it’s the same:

Wake up, shower, breakfast, kids, work (at home if you can).

Mine does. I’m feel like I’m stuck in the same events; continually being frustrated at my children’s lack of sleep as they wake up early and are unable to act like human beings.

Maybe I’m exaggerating – I’m just over being woken up before 6am most mornings. Today they weren’t too bad, up at 5am (I forgot to change the clock in their room to daylight savings) which would have technically been 6am, which for them (well my youngest at least) is pretty good. They were up at 4:30am the other day, and they were awful.

This week has been long. Shopping was not fun; some people are acting weird and are completely rude, and then the food restrictions. I hadn’t done a big shop in about two/three weeks before all the food restrictions came into play. During the checkout some of the items I had put into the trolley had to go back onto the shelf as I didn’t see the signs for the restrictions. There were only two products where I had gone over.

I’m trying to find ways to entertain kids, keep up with study and housework. Struggling to find the energy to keep on top of the housework with everyone in the house. My hubby is now working from home, and I’m keeping busy by de-cluttering. At the moment our backyard is clean and the broken toys have been binned. Still feels like Groundhog Day. Wake up, can’t go anywhere and spending the day with two small children who are bored and sick of each other’s company.

Cooking helps. I’ve made an apple and rhubarb pie and pannetone for Easter. I like to cook, so it’s nice that I can make something my family (mainly the kids) enjoy.

Pannetone

Apple and rhubarb pie šŸ˜‹

I went through my baking cupboard today and de-cluttered it. Mainly to assess what I needed. It’s DS1 birthday next week (he turns 6) and I wanted to make sure I had what I needed to make his cake. I’m hoping it will look cool. I have to locate toys to put on it. He wants a Bumblebee cake. So, to make it easy for me; a square cake with Transformers fighting on top. I just need to locate his Bumblebee, Optimus Prime and Megatron to have an epic battle in Cybertron. (As a boy mum, I am well versed on Transformers and totally know that Megatron is the bad guy).

That’s going to be interesting, as the plans we had originally have been changed. I feel bad for him, none of his mates can come, but we’re planning on having a fun day despite it. Just trying to find a Transformer movie we can all watch as a family. Bit hard when DS2 is 3 and most Transfomers movies are.. well not G rated. On goes my search for Transformer movies, making dinner and remembering to bathe my children regularly.

Have a great week everyone.

Leave a comment